Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers redirect output into the middle of a file Post 302381510 by quirkasaurus on Friday 18th of December 2009 01:01:01 PM
Old 12-18-2009
well, if you know exactly where you want to insert stuff into the 2nd file,
and the files aren't too large:

Code:
vi +/pqr file_nm << EOF
:r other_file_nm^M
:wq^M
EOF

Where the ^M is entered using vi with CONTROL-V, ENTER

Redirect the output to /dev/null, if you don't want to see it work.

Another way might be:

Code:
(
sed -n '1,/pqr/p' file_nm
cat other_file_nm
sed -n '/stu/,$p' file_nm
) > file_nm.mangled

Then rename the mangled file.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

redirect output to file?

Hi: I am currently working on a program which requires direct its ouput to a file here is an example ./proram arg_1 arg_2 when program ends all output will be arg_2 file Is that possible I am not a bad programmer, However I am stuck there. Can anyone give a hint? Thanks SW (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: slackware
1 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Redirect output to a file

Ahhhrrrggg I'm having a brain fart... I want to take the output of a command and redirect it to a file... This works.... $ man cp | cat >> copy_help but this doesn't keytool -help |cat >> keytool_help It just produces... these lines... more keytool_help ] ... ... (11 Replies)
Discussion started by: jimmyc
11 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

appending to sed output of one file into the middle of file

hi, i have a file file1 file2 ----------- ----------------- aa bbb ccc 111 1111 1111 ddd eee fff 222 3333 4444 ggg hhh... (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: go4desperado
5 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Redirect grep output into file !!!!!