Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Help with grep (reWriting it in another way.) Post 302380678 by kenshin88 on Wednesday 16th of December 2009 02:31:46 AM
Old 12-16-2009
Help with grep (reWriting it in another way.)

Hello everyone!! Nice do be apart of your forum. I am not very good at unix and thats why i need your help i have this project where i have to simulate a grep command without using grep thought. I have to simulate

Code:
grep [-n] <parameters> <file>
grep [-v] <parameters> <file>
grep [-y] <parameters> <file>
grep [-i] <parameters> <file>
grep [-w] <parameters> <file>
grep [-f file] <parameters> <file>

as a file i am using /etc/passwd

Moreover they will have to be able to use paremeters such as

re+
re?
re1|re2

where you find in an egrep.
i know the first 2 can be done with sed but i am not sure if the re+,re? and re1|re2 parameters work...

Please if someone clould help i would be gratefull.

Thanks a lot.

*ps forgot to mention the language we use in script writing is awk.

Last edited by Franklin52; 12-16-2009 at 04:25 AM.. Reason: Please use code tags!

9 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. IP Networking

Squid Proxy URL rewriting

I have an architecture as below <> <> There is a program in the AIX server which sends SMS to the internet, by sending HTTP request to the SMS processing server. Like, http://smsserver/mysms=test However the application does not have an option to specify where the Proxy server... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: firdousamir
1 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Rewriting a word from location

I am using: ..to get the word that is being searched. What I am looking to do, is to rewrite the word and us it in css: Sort of like this javascript: Hopefully I am making myself clear. Any ideas how I could do this? (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: marringi
1 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Help rewriting my KSH-script...