Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Combining two variables in ksh Post 302379394 by Shoeless_Mike on Thursday 10th of December 2009 02:59:15 PM
Old 12-10-2009
Combining two variables in ksh

I can't believe I can't figure this out... given this code:

Code:
CARS_DATA_LIST=`cat /tmp/file1 | awk '{print $1}' `
FMSA_DATA_LIST=`cat /tmp/file2 | awk '{print $1}' `

The value of each of the above variables is:

CARS = a b c d e f g
FMSA = a b c q r s

I want to declare a third variable that contains the unique elements of the other two variables. I tried:

Code:
NEW_VAR=`echo $CARS_DATA_LIST $FMSA_DATA_LIST | sort | uniq `

echo $NEW_VAR
a b c d e f g a b c q r s

Does not work... also added a -u flag to uniq with no luck... on a Solaris 10 box btw. Any help is appreciated.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

variables in ksh

I'm new to unix scripting. How would I go about pulling the first 3 characters from a variable in ksh and storing in another variable? Thanks. (9 Replies)
Discussion started by: steve6368
9 Replies

2. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

Ksh - Env. Variables ??

Hey all, I have been using Ksh and in that I am setting Environment variables. To set Env. Variables I have created my own file "BuildScript.sh" in which i have written : export CLASSPATH=/somedir/some other dir/file:. export PATH=/some dir/file:. But when i am calling this... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: varungupta
4 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

subtracting variables in ksh

hi all, how do i subract variables in shell ?? am trying to space out the headers and the output generated by the shell so they all line up : currently the output is like this : servers : users server1 : 10 latestServer : 50 so i thought... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: cesarNZ
3 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

How to preserve NL in Ksh variables?