Sponsored Content
The Lounge What is on Your Mind? Which flavor of unix has more job opportunities? Post 302375397 by zxmaus on Friday 27th of November 2009 02:10:25 PM
Old 11-27-2009
I might be wrong but at least in UK they are all very popular. Seems the demand for Linux is still high - and for a beginner, it might be easier to get into Linux or Open Solaris because it doesn't require dedicated hardware as AIX does ... from a salary perspective, it seems that Solaris and AIX are slightly better payed than Linux

Kind regards
zxmaus

8 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Need a flavor of Unix

Hello all! I'm the new guy in these parts. I'm a part time college student/part time Java Intern. I've seen that during my days at work having a basic knowledge and understanding for Unix is a great benefit for us developers. I've got a dual boot on my main workstation at home of Win2K Pro and... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: AMDPwred
3 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Which Flavor to start with????

Hello Everyone! I am a newbie for Unix OS's and have just started learning the basic commands but i am getting a lot confused in flavors of unix. Which one to start with; which one will run stable on my intel box; which one has the best to explore in security/performance/high speed... (7 Replies)
Discussion started by: mga
7 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

killing unix job after the job process completes

Hi, Thanks in advance. i need to kill a unix background running job after that job process completes. i can kill a job by giving the following unix command kill -9 processid how to kill the job after the current process run gets completed ? Appreciate your valuable help. ... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: dtazv
1 Replies

4. Solaris

killing a unix job after the job process gets completed