Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting AWK Help ME! this easy for who know Post 302375096 by He2 on Thursday 26th of November 2009 12:58:11 PM
Old 11-26-2009
Caro, durden_tyler

The script by developed you worked, only I would also compare the column $ 1 of file1 and column $ 1 of file2, also from the comparison of the column initially tested in file1 with file2.
You could also explain to me the script.

Thank you.

He2

8 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Easy question about awk gsub

How does one escape the left bracket in awk? For example: | awk 'gsub (" I'm sure it's pretty simple, I'm just a noob. (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: TheCrunge
1 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Easy AWK question

Ive got some output in a file that looks exactly like this: 1 ----------- 1542 1 record(s) selected. How do I just extract that 1542 and drop it into another file or (preferrably) a variable (using a ksh script) (9 Replies)
Discussion started by: rdudejr
9 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Need help on installing an EASY to use and easy to install command line text editor

Hi again. Sorry if it seems like I'm spamming the boards a bit, but I figured I might as well ask all the questions I need answers to at once, and hopefully at least get some. I have installed Solaris 10 on a server. The default text editors are there (vi, ex, ed, maybe others, I know emacs is... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: EugeneG
4 Replies

4. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Newbie Help with Grep or Awk .. Easy one ...

I have this output: uniquemember=uid=315kthatch,ou=people,ou=client315,dc=paisleyhosting,dc=com and i want the output to be just this: 315kthatch I need it to be generic tho, because I have hundreds of lines of output, and the preceding numbers are not always 315. So I would need... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: kthatch
3 Replies