Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: tty command failing
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting tty command failing Post 302373093 by talashil on Thursday 19th of November 2009 11:20:33 AM
Old 11-19-2009
Thankyou

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. HP-UX

dd command failing

I am new to HP-UX. I have an 8GB drive that is my root drive, contained in a Volume Group. I would like to clone that drive to another drive, which is 18.4GB. The other drive is not in a volume group. I am using this simple command:# dd if=/dev/dsk/c0t6d0 of=/dev/dsk/c0t5d0The command... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: emsecrist
4 Replies

2. Solaris

Command to redirect console to my tty?

Is there a utility built into Solaris that will allow me to see console messages from a tty? I've done a search and see that this is possible through software like ILOM, but I'm looking for a method to do this with built in utilities. For example, on AIX, I can use swcons `tty` (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: makodarear
6 Replies

3. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

tty changes?

I am not sure if I am using the correct terminology but somehow my tty keeps changing on me. The man pages are confusing to me on what exactly the tty is. This is what I see when I run the tty command. Could anyone explain why my tty keeps changing? ~ $ tty /dev/pts/1 ~ $ tty /dev/pts/0 (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: cokedude
6 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Extract tty from ps command

When I try to extract tty from ps command , at time we get output , at times we dont. for eg i executed below quesry continulusly for some time,Actually i feel its because sometime pid allocated has some additional space at begining which causes this issue. ->ps | grep "/-ksh" | tail -1 | cut -f4... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: lalitpct
2 Replies

5. Shell Programming and Scripting

For loop failing cd command