Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Word wrap with sed
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Word wrap with sed Post 302373057 by stinkefisch on Thursday 19th of November 2009 09:46:31 AM
Old 11-19-2009
Thanks to the both of you

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

word wrap in vi

I am using vi to edit shell scripts, but whenever I get to the end of the line it goes to the next line, and when I run the script it considers whatever was placed onthe next line a new command...I guess this has to do with word wrap- how do I continue to write on one line? (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: dangral
3 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Should I use sed/ grep/awk for wrap file?

Hi, This is my first time post a new thread. I have been trying to work on this for the past 2 days and could not find any good solution. I have 1 long long line ( EDI wrapped file) like below: NEW*SR*04411763447*279*278*Q~*ZR*AAV*SR*04511763460*SQ*21B37F04~HL*305*304*Q~K~SN1*1*1*SR*05511763461*... (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: vanda_25
6 Replies

3. HP-UX

word wrap issue with grep

in my HP-Unix environment I continue to have issues seeing the whole file path when I do a grep Example: >ps -ef |grep test > /testpath/is/here/ should see: >ps -ef |grep test > /testpath/is/here/not/here/test Is there a setting to turn word wrap on/off? It works fine in our AIX... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: bowtiextreme
4 Replies

4. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

How to print line starts with specific word and contains specific word using sed?

Hi, I have gone through may posts and dint find exact solution for my requirement. I have file which consists below data and same file have lot of other data. <MAPPING DESCRIPTION ='' ISVALID ='YES' NAME='m_TASK_UPDATE' OBJECTVERSION ='1'> <MAPPING DESCRIPTION ='' ISVALID ='NO'... (11 Replies)
Discussion started by: tmalik79
11 Replies

5. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers