Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: unix compare two variable
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers unix compare two variable Post 302372880 by Scott on Thursday 19th of November 2009 03:31:07 AM
Old 11-19-2009
You use test to compare variables.

Code:
if test "var1" = "$var2"; then
fi

or 

if [ "$var1" = "$var2" ]; then
fi

Code:
man test

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Compare the content of a variable with a string

Hello all: I'm new in Unix and here and I'am spanish so my english isn't so good to explain my doubt. Here it is. Very urgent: I need to compare the value of a variable with a string. Example is this. Imagine that the variable x1 contains the path and a file text and I need to compare... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: robdai
2 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

compare variable against regular expression?

is it possible? if so, how? i want to check a variable whether is it a number or letter in an if-else statement (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: finalight
6 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

compare a variable against array elements

hi everyone - i have a bash script that does, in broad terms, the following: given a file containing a list of email accounts, for every account, do , then move on to the next account. pretty simple, and all that stuff works fine. thing is, there's a very good change that any account... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: fearboy
2 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

compare two variable value in unix

dear all i had two variable in my script. var1 and var2 var1= 10 ( it will part of date op ) Fri Aug 8 10:05:09 IST 2008 var2=9 ( it will op of ls -ltr and time part of it.) now i want to compare of them and want to do some task if both are are not same. kindly let me know possible... (0 Replies)
Discussion started by: jaydeep_sadaria
0 Replies

5. Shell Programming and Scripting