Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: File Creation notification
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers File Creation notification Post 302369581 by redhead on Monday 9th of November 2009 05:03:08 AM
Old 11-09-2009
Code:
#!/bin/sh

while [ 1 ]; do                        # Run for as long as nessesary
  if [ -f /some/where/a/file ]; then   # If filename exists and has the apropriate name
    echo "File is found"               # Notify and stop monitoring
    exit 0
  fi
  sleep 60                             # Else wait a minut and see again
done

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

mail notification on file generation

I'm very new to unix. I need help in writing a shell script that will automatically take output file from a particular folder from a server and if the file is generated send email notifications to certain group of ppl and if it is not generated send a mail wid error msg.. can any1 help me on... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: anzie.sharma
2 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

file generation and mail notification

I'm very new to unix. I need help in writing a shell script that will automatically take output file from a particular folder from a server and if the file is generated send email notifications to certain group of ppl and if it is not generated send a mail wid error msg.. can any1 help me on... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: anzie.sharma
4 Replies

3. Solaris

gzip a file and append creation date stamp to file

I want to gzip a file and append the creation date to the end of the file. How can I accomplish this task. Basically they are log files which need a creation date stamp appended to make sure they do not overwrite other log files. -jack (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: jacktravine
3 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Help with creating a text file in perl with file creation date.