Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting #!/bin/bash and #1bin/sh command not found error on mac osx terminal/shell script Post 302364318 by danpaluska on Thursday 22nd of October 2009 05:07:44 PM
Old 10-22-2009
#!/bin/bash and #1bin/sh command not found error on mac osx terminal/shell script

i am having a weird error on mac os x running some shell scripts. i am a complete newbie at this and this question concerns 2 scripts. one of which a friend of mine wrote (videochecker.sh) a couple weeks ago and it's been running fine on another machine.

then last week i wrote capture.sh and it has been running fine on a couple computers.
but then i tried to run videochecker.sh on a new machine that runs capture.sh fine and i got the following error:
Code:
: No such file or directory#!/bin/bash

why will one script(capture.sh) execute fine and the other (videochecker.sh) gives this weird bash error?
but then i saw they had different first lines.

one is /bin/sh and one is /bin/bash

weird thing to because the one that doesn't work on this machine (/bin/bash) has been working fine on the other broadcaster mac min for several weeks. scripts still very mysterious to me.

so i change it so #!/bin/sh and #! /bin/sh still no go...
Code:
: No such file or directory#!/bin/sh
: command not foundline 2: 
: command not foundline 5: 
: command not foundline 7: 
: command not foundline 9: 
'/videochecker.sh: line 72: syntax error near unexpected token `do
'/videochecker.sh: line 72: `for f in *.mp4; do

another thing i tried as suggested:
Code:
bash -ex ./videochecker.sh
' '#!/bin/sh
: No such file or directory#!/bin/sh
Clarence$ bash -ex ./videochecker.sh
' '#!/bin/bash
: No such file or directory#!/bin/bash
Clarence$ echo $SHELL
/bin/bash

two screenshots of terminal and some other discussion of the error
weird bash not found error in mac terminal on Flickr - Photo Sharing!
scripting error, #!/bin/bash not found? on Flickr - Photo Sharing!