Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting How to test if part of a string matches? Post 302362725 by wolfv on Saturday 17th of October 2009 06:42:04 AM
Old 10-17-2009
Question How to test if part of a string matches?

How to test if the first 7 characters of a string matches "backup."?

This did not work:
Code:
#!/bin/sh
name="backup.20091122"
if [ "${$name | cut -c 1-7}" = "backup." ]
then
    echo name is a backup
else
    echo name is not a backup
fi

Thank you.

9 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

to create foder when the string matches

hi :) im actually new to shell script ,see here is the program wat it will do is .. i have to create folder at the run time when the string matches ... what to do is im havin text file which carry the file name like ( EngCVer1pg1j01.TOP, EngCVer1pg1m08.TOP, EngCVer1pg1h04,..and... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: maximas
1 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

creating folder when the string matches

hi :confused:sorry last time , b4 im drafting the thread i was unexpectedly posted the thread see here is the program wat it will do is .. i have to create folder at the run time when the string matches ... what to do is im havin text file which carry the file name like ( EngCVer1pg1j01.TOP,... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: maximas
2 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Replace Entire line if any part matches regexp

Hey guys, I have a file that I've slowly been awking, seding, and greping for data entry. I am down to pull the addresses out to insert them into an excel file. Each address is a few lines, but i want to put a semicolon delimiter in between each address so I can export the text file into excel and... (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: Cocoabean
6 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Test on string containing spacewhile test 1 -eq 1 do read a $a if test $a = quitC then break fi d