Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting sed & areas respectively sed & pyramiding Post 302359827 by Donaldinho on Wednesday 7th of October 2009 12:57:34 PM
Old 10-07-2009
sed & areas respectively sed & pyramiding

Hello everyone,

i wonder if someone could give me an advice regarding the following problem using sed.

Given ist a structure as shown below:
<aaa>text1<b>text2</b>text3<c>text4</c>text5</aaa>

Now I want to change the outer tag from "aaa" to "new" and replace all tags inside the outer tags using underscores:
<new>text1_text2_text3_text4_text5</new>

The text has different length, the number and the names of the tags inside the outer tags differ.
Example:
<aaa>text1<b>text2</b>text3<c>text4</c>text5</aaa>
or
<aaa>text1111<bbb>text2122</bbb>texttttt3<cc>text4</cc>text5</aaa>

Is it possible to do this using sed?

Unfortunately I am new to sed and this is too diffucult for me... Smilie

Thx in advance and greetings from Germany

Marc

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

sed & awk help...

I have a question. Take the following statement awk -F\| '{print $21}' testfile | sed 's/\//\\/g' > newfile This will grab the 21st column of a | delimited text file, replace the forward slashes "/" , with back slashes "\", and redirect the output newfile. Now, how do I get the output... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: shimb0
4 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

cp & sed error

Hi, Below is a small piece of my Korn shell script - what i am trying to do is substitute all occurrences of the word given by the ${src} parameter with the word given by the ${dest} parameter in that particular textfile. But i get the errors below... for i in `ls... (19 Replies)
Discussion started by: n8575
19 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

sed, date and /&