Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Use the same perl script with several different variables Post 302358475 by smartin114 on Friday 2nd of October 2009 04:47:15 PM
Old 10-02-2009
Use the same perl script with several different variables

I'm new to perl and have to create these files for my job. I have a script that I can run that will create the file, but I have to manually pass the variables to it. It is dumb and it takes a lot of time. I want to be able to pass the existing perl script a set of variables (the same variables with different values) over and over again, until it runs through them.

Basically, I want to keep a file with the variables:

$variable1
$variable2
$variable3
run script with these > output to a file

$variable1
$variable2
$variable3
run script with these > output to a file

Anyone willing to give a newbie some help?

Thanks

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

accessing variables declared in another perl script

Hi all, I have a perl script which declares two variables and calls another perl script which accesses those variables. But I am unable to access the variables in the called script. My script is as follows: my $ENV{a}="20"; system("perl called.pl"); and my called.pl contains: print... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: gurukottur
3 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Need help passing variables in shell script to perl one-liner

I'm writing a script to automate some post-install tasks on RHEL4 servers. I need the following code to insert an 'A' in the middle of a string, then replace the string in a file. I know I can use sed to do this, but I'd like to use perl's in place edit so I don't have to write to a temp file,... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: Xek
1 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Comparing Variables in Perl