Sponsored Content
Special Forums Cybersecurity File owned by oracle user and dba group need readonly access to other users Post 302356453 by varontron on Friday 25th of September 2009 03:03:22 PM
Old 09-25-2009
you can change permissions with 'chmod' but you need to be the owner of the file. So to give non-Oracle non-dba-group user read access you would login as the owner (Oracle) and issue:
Code:
chmod o+r abc.txt

look at the chmod man page for more info.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Readonly access

Hi, I have create a user using the following command useradd -d /home/rozan -s /bin/bash -c "Rozan ahmed" -g dba rozan I would like to give her only the read only access to $BDUMP_HOME/alert.log file The owner of the file is oracle:oinstall Regards Faruque (13 Replies)
Discussion started by: faruque.ahmed
13 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Deny dba command to a user group!!

Dear all i am relatively new in using UNIX i have a problem, We are using IBM Informix Dynamic Server Version 9.40.FC7W4 we have 2 bsic user groups that we are using the 1st is root and another i wasnt to restrict the command "dba" that takes the users of that group to the database. I have... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: masquerer
3 Replies

3. HP-UX

How to restrict a user group to access the kernel

Hi, Please any one can help me to know that how we can restrict a user group to access the kernel at all. (0 Replies)
Discussion started by: harishankar
0 Replies

4. UNIX and Linux Applications

oracle user and group setting

I am seeking help on this issue. When I installed Oracle 10g on Solaris 9 sparc box, I created user oracle and assigned oracle user to primary group Oinstall and second group dba. Then installation went successful. After that, I created another user ccmm and assigned ccmm to dba group. Then I... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: duke0001
1 Replies

5. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers