Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Diff Command to return the number of lines inserted,deleted and changed. Post 302354970 by nmattam on Monday 21st of September 2009 05:22:19 AM
Old 09-21-2009
Java Diff Command to return the number of lines inserted,deleted and changed.

Hello,
I have to compare two files file1 and file2, retrieve the number of lines modified (added, deleted or modified) in file2. Output must be like:

File2:
Added Deleted Changed Total
------ ------- -------- -----
2 1 1 4

Somebody please help me, Thanks in advance!!!

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Output number of rows inserted, updated...

Hi all, I am new to Unix. I have written pl/sql script to be run in Unix. I have used Merge statement and subsequently would like to know the number of rows updated or inserted. Any suggestions in this regard would be great Thanks in advance Kushal (0 Replies)
Discussion started by: kushal_cog
0 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

number of lines returned from a grep command

hi all, from a shell (ksh) script, i am doing a 'grep'. how do i find out the number of lines returned from that 'grep' command ?? thanks in advance. (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: cesarNZ
4 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Show entire lines with diff command

Hi, When I run the diff command using diff -yt file1 file2, I get the output in which original lines are truncated. I tried using -W switch with diff. However, that does not produce exact output as I want. Is it possible to show entire line of file1 and file2 in diff command's output? ... (8 Replies)
Discussion started by: jal_capri
8 Replies

4. Solaris

Grep command to return all the lines from one matched pattern to another.