Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Remove All Lines Between Two Unique Lines Post 302354927 by ripat on Monday 21st of September 2009 02:04:01 AM
Old 09-21-2009
Hi,

Code:
sed '/<Remove>/,/<\/Remove>/d' file

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Remove all lines except lines starting with [

Hello, I am trying to remove all the lines in file except lines starting with [ How can i accomplish this? Thank you very much in advance. (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: maxo
4 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

remove blank lines and merge lines in shell

Hi, I'm not a expert in shell programming, so i've come here to take help from u gurus. I'm trying to tailor a csv file that i got to make it work for the LOAD FROM command. I've a datatable csv of the below format - --in file format xx,xx,xx ,xx , , , , ,,xx, xxxx,, ,, xxx,... (11 Replies)
Discussion started by: dvah
11 Replies

3. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

In a huge file, Delete duplicate lines leaving unique lines

Hi All, I have a very huge file (4GB) which has duplicate lines. I want to delete duplicate lines leaving unique lines. Sort, uniq, awk '!x++' are not working as its running out of buffer space. I dont know if this works : I want to read each line of the File in a For Loop, and want to... (16 Replies)
Discussion started by: krishnix
16 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Transpose lines from individual blocks to unique lines

Hello to all, happy new year 2013! May somebody could help me, is about a very similar problem to the problem I've posted here where the member rdrtx1 and bipinajith helped me a lot. https://www.unix.com/shell-programming-scripting/211147-map-values-blocks-single-line-2.html It is very... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: Ophiuchus
3 Replies

5. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Print unique lines without sort or unique