Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers Comparison operators: shortcut name Post 302353913 by figaro on Wednesday 16th of September 2009 01:09:38 PM
Old 09-16-2009
Thank you for your answer, but when trying your statement, it seems that "!^" is interpreted as a filename used in earlier commands on the command line, and yields error message:
Code:
Badly placed ()'s.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

shortcut in unix?

Sorry, anybody here knows how to make a shortcut in unix? Thanks. Sebastian. (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: seba
4 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Shortcut

Dear Friends How i make shortcut in Tru64 unix for example make a shortcut for mail , i want to make a shortcut under / root the bath for mail # cd /var/spool/mail Regards, (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: fmmq
1 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Shortcut thing?

Hey, im new to Linux...totally new. I know there is a way to assign a type of variable or something to a directory, so instead of having to type "cd /var/www" etc, I could just assign a variable to the directory, so I could just do "cd $assignedvar" and it would be there...if you get what I... (0 Replies)
Discussion started by: mo0ness
0 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Is there a shortcut in awk?

Is there a key board shortcut in vi editor to allow me to find the next ( or { that are corresponding to the first one? Thanks! It's % sign. (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: whatisthis
1 Replies

5. Shell Programming and Scripting

Get Comparison operators from with RexExp

Hello all im trying to get the Comparison operators from string with out much success I have : $myvar = "if (hhhh <= blah.count )" ; when I do : if ($myvar =~ m/.*().*/){ ....... } I keep getting the "=" and not "<=" why ? (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: umen
3 Replies

6. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Operators