Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Understanding of a script as a scripting newbie Post 302353303 by sunpraveen on Tuesday 15th of September 2009 05:28:16 AM
Old 09-15-2009
Alex,

Code:

1. if [ ".$t" != . ]; then

The above is basically to check whether the variable $t is set or not. If it is indeed set to some value, then ".$t" will NOT be equal to "."

eg: if $t is set to a, then ".$t" will be equal to ".a".

Code:
2. if [ -s $status_out ]; then

-s file True if file exists and has a size greater than zero.

"man test" will give you more information.

Code:
3. if [ $t -ge $thresh_warn ]; then

The above is checking whether $t is greater than or equal to $thresh_warn and hence "-ge" option.

This is used for comparing numerals.

HTH,Smilie

Regards,

Praveen

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Shell Scripting Newbie

I'm relatively new at this scripting game, just need to learn some basic stuff for data handling. My current need is to write a script that loops through a textfile of filenames, and for each file removes the first line and re-writes that file to a new name. In fact I could do with knowing... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: mattyjim2
1 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Scripting Newbie

Seems simple but I am having difficulty with this one: I am trying to write a single command line argument (which will be a path) - the program should print out the owner of the path. I can not get anything I write to run. Please help. (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: Kymmers7
5 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

scripting newbie needs help

I have written a script that will email a generic user when a device is "offline". I would like to enhance this by having the script lookup a contact's email and automatically add it to the MAIL_LIST. I am trying to lookup and return data based on a field common in two files File 1 ... (0 Replies)