Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Linux script help
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Linux script help Post 302350450 by Vi-Curious on Thursday 3rd of September 2009 11:00:12 PM
Old 09-04-2009
If you had a flat file that contained the pages and file names like:
Code:
1-7 newfile1
8-234 newfile2
238-499 newfile3
500-1000 newfile4

then you code use something like this:
Code:
perl -nle '/(.+) (.+)/;qx(pdftk file.pdf cat $1 output $2.pdf)' infile

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Linux Script help

Hi Everyone , have a nice day given below is a simple linux script but its first part is not working ( variable k assignment ) , while second loop is working fine can anyone help me out with this #!/bin/sh echo "Enter Date" read date1 for i in 00 01 02 03 04 05 06 07 08 09 10 11 12 13 14... (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: Dastard
6 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

help with linux shell script

HI im a novice with shell scripts but i need help with a random script I have this folder filled with 500 different file names... I need help creating a script that will take each filename and make a new folder named that filename and then move that file into the newly created folder. Then the... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: emachala
1 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Help with linux bash script

Hello everybody! This is my first time having to write a script so your help is most appreciated.Also i am a beginner when it comes to linux so please bare with me.Thanks in advance to all who will look into this for me. I have to write a bash script that will show the free space on the hard... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: manike
4 Replies

4. Linux

linux script