Sponsored Content
Operating Systems HP-UX Parameter to avoid file being deleted by SAM Post 302349343 by instant000 on Monday 31st of August 2009 05:58:18 PM
Old 08-31-2009
Java Parameter to avoid file being deleted by SAM

Good afternoon.

I am a newbie.

We just had a potentially big problem (negated to having good backups).

Basically, there is an option in SAM, to delete all the data from the system that a user ever created.

Lo and behold, silly me, I choose that option, and all sorts of needed files get deleted.

Luckily, we have a good backup.

Unfortunately, I would like to avoid this situation in the future.

Is there a way to choose which directories are *blocked* from being cleared by SAM?

I noticed , from checking thesam_remove.log that the "/var" directory was blocked, for example, but I want the same exclusion for other directories. Is that possible?

Thanks!

8 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

SAM file

I am having a problem on an HP box, where I am being told that there are too many open files. I am also being told I need to change a SAM file. Could some help me understand what a SAM files is and what it is used for. Thanks. (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: kristian
2 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Avoid Duplicates in a file

Hi Gurus, I had a question regarding avoiding duplicates.i have a file abc.txt abc.txt ------- READER_1_1_1> HIER_28056 XML Reader: Error occurred while parsing:; line number ; column number READER_1_3_1> Sun Mar 23 23:52:48 2008 READER_1_3_1> HIER_28056 XML Reader: Error occurred while... (7 Replies)
Discussion started by: pssandeep
7 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

How to avoid a temp file