Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers unzip and change file permissions Post 302337309 by hkansal on Thursday 23rd of July 2009 08:15:58 PM
Old 07-23-2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by jpk
Is there any way to unzip a zip file and change file permissions to 777 while extracting the files
Not Really!!

It has to be a 2 step process.

Just in case you are looking to unzip a .zip file, the jar command would do it.

Regards,
HKansal

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

checking file's permissions and change them

Hi all, I am very new to UNIX and Shell scripting, I need to run a script to check for file's and directoires permissions and change the permissions if necessary. I appreciate your help.. Thanks (7 Replies)
Discussion started by: K-ONE
7 Replies

2. Solaris

File Permissions change date

Hi, I was wondering if there is any way to find out when the file/directory's permissions were changed. Typically, when using 'chmod' to change a file/directory's permissions, the modification date does not change. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks. (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: kpatel
4 Replies

3. HP-UX

To give the "unzip" permissions & "create" file permissions

Hi, I am a Unix Admin. I have to give the permissions to a user for creating new file in a directory in HP-Ux 11.11 system since he cannot able to create a new file in the directory. Thanks in advance. Mike (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: Mike1234
3 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

How to Unzip a .ZIP file in Unix without using unzip cmd..?????

Hi All I have ftped a .ZIP file (zipped using WinZip in Windows) to my Unix server (HP-UX). I don't have unzip cmd available in my curent Unix version Please let me know any cmd in UNIX (other than unzip) using which I can unzip this .ZIP file . Please elaborate on the commands aval and... (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: sureshg_sampat
5 Replies