Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers Adding lines and columns to a file Post 302336581 by vgersh99 on Wednesday 22nd of July 2009 11:52:48 AM
Old 07-22-2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by zajtat
Thanks once again!
I've try to run it with wak, but nothing happens. All that's printed is >
Sorry, this may be very basis, but I'm new to UNIX

---------- Post updated at 10:50 AM ---------- Previous update was at 10:46 AM ----------

may be we could simplify the task:
How can I add just another column to an existing file1?
Please
just type what's been posted - assuming your file1 and file2 do exist in the current working directory:
Code:
awk '
  FNR==NR {f2[FNR]=$3;next}
  FNR==1 { print "here is my new line"}' file2 file1
  $NF = $NF OFS f2[FNR]' file2 file1

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Perl: adding columns in CSV file with information in each

Hi Wise UNIX Crew, I want to add 3 different columns to the file in which: 1. The first new column pulls in today's date and time 2. Second column one has a '0' 3. Third column has the word 'ANY' going down the column If my file content is as follows: "7","a","abc",123"... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: dolo21taf
1 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Adding columns to a file

I want to select the first column from a daily file called foo.csv. The result is written to file foo.txt. Currently the following script is used for that: cut -d, -f 1 foo.csv > foo.txt A typical result would yield : A12 A45 B11 B67 What needs to happen in addition is that two columns... (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: figaro
5 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Need Help for Adding Three new columns in existing file from fatching data from file

not required this time (36 Replies)
Discussion started by: Sandeep_Malik
36 Replies

4. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Adding EMPTY columns to Tab-delimited txt file