Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: 20th based convertor
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting 20th based convertor Post 302335261 by Dax01 on Saturday 18th of July 2009 03:15:02 AM
Old 07-18-2009
20th based convertor

Hi, I'm new at Linux shell programming so I could use some help. I need to make a 20thdecimal convertor. Is just like hexadecimal, the only difference is that hexadecimal goes from 1-9 and A-F, and I need this one to go from 1-9 and A-J.
I got some already but I get endless loop, please take a look.

Code:
echo -n "insert number to be converted: " 
read decimal 

until [ $decimal -eq 0 ] 
do 
div=`echo $decimal /20 | bc` 
res=`echo "$decimal-$div * 20" | bc` 
echo $res $div 
done

At this point I get the two number that I need, then I just add some labels to let it know that A= 11, B= 12, etc. The thing is I cannot stop the loopSmilieAny ideas aprecciated.

I used this Hexadecimal convertor as started and just changed the base from 16 (hexadecimal) to 20 (the one I desire) on lines 6,7.

Code:
echo -n "numbers to be converted: " 
read decimal 

while [ $decimal -gt 0 ] 
do 
div=`echo $decimal /16 | bc` 
res=`echo "$decimal-$div * 16" | bc` decimal=$div 
if [ $res -eq 10 ] ; then 
res=a 
if [ $res -eq 11 ] ; then 
res=b 
elif [ $res -lt 9 ] ; then 
res= $res 
fi 
hex= $res $div 
echo $hex

Last edited by DukeNuke2; 07-18-2009 at 04:19 AM.. Reason: added code tags

5 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Perl to C convertor

Is there one out there that supports Perl/Tk ??? (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: perleo
5 Replies

2. Programming

Binary to Text Convertor

Hey Im starting out in C just recently and Im needing a string that converts binary to text, The only way i know of doing this without knowledge of C entirely. Is Making a sorta of library of the entire alphabet in binary for the program to select the text from it to display a sentence. If that... (2 Replies)