Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting perl linux file name validation Post 302331367 by pludi on Monday 6th of July 2009 03:02:42 AM
Old 07-06-2009
Whoops, my bad. Change
Code:
/[-\w\.]/g

to
Code:
/^[-\w\.]+$/

This will check that the whole string, and fail if there's a non-matching character.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

form validation with perl

Hey guys, I'm just messing around with a perl webpage. The idea is to make a simple validation form that will later insert a record into my DVD database. it's all very basic at the moment, and I worked up my script from the form validation example I found on this website:... (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: LNC
5 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

File Validation

Hi All, I am new to UNIX scripting. I need to validate a file. I need to check whether the file has a header , detail records and footer. If all the file is good I need to create a status file with the status 'Y' else 'N'. I have pasted the an example of the file below: ... (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: kumar66
5 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Perl script :- Phone number validation

Hi All, I am doing a perl script validation for Phone numbers. The normal phone number format is 01-32145. I need to do two validations for the phone number 1) A valid phone number can have at least two digits as prefix and at least five digits as postfix. e.g. 01-01011 2) A... (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: subin_bala
5 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

File Name Validation

Hi All, I am trying to validate the file name against the naming convention mentioned in configuration file. In the configuration file, the file name convention is mentioned as: Myfile_SQ<NN>_<NN>_YYYYMMDD_HHMMSS.xml The actual file received is Myfile_SQ10_30_20110423_073002.xml How do... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: angshuman
1 Replies

5. Shell Programming and Scripting