Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Perl Extract String
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Perl Extract String Post 302330602 by xlynx3 on Wednesday 1st of July 2009 07:12:58 PM
Old 07-01-2009
Perl Extract String

Hi,
I have a string like

"something is good wanted (bla bla)"

I need to get the world "wanted" from this string and "assign it to a variable".. but it's not a static word so i want to get that word by searching the pattern as follows

<space>desiredword<space>(

and i tried to get that word by
Code:
$string =~ m/\s.*?\s\(/gi;

How can i do this?

Many thanks in advance..

Last edited by Yogesh Sawant; 07-05-2009 at 11:19 AM.. Reason: added code tags

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

perl newbie: how to extract an unknown word from a string

hi, im quite new to perl regexp. i have a problem where i want to extract a word from a given string. but the word is unknown, only fact is that it appears as the second word in the string. Eg. input string(s) : char var1 = 'A'; int var2 = 10; char *ptr; and what i want to do is... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: wolwy_pete
3 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Search for string in a file and extract another string to a variable

Hi, guys. I have one question: I need to search for a string in a file, and then extract another string from the file and assign it to a variable. For example: the contents of the file (group) is below: ... ftp:x:23: mail:x:34 ... testing:x:2001 sales:x:2002 development:x:2003 ...... (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: daikeyang
6 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Perl REGEX - How do extract a string in a line?

Hi Guys, In the following line: cn=portal.090710.191533.428571000,cn=groups,dc=mp,dc=rj,dc=gov,dc=br I need to extract this string: portal.090710.191533.428571000 As you can see this string always will be bettween "cn=" and "," strings. Someone know one regular expression to... (4 Replies)