Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Test for shell interpreter at beginning of script Post 302328636 by methyl on Wednesday 24th of June 2009 10:01:12 PM
Old 06-24-2009
Current /bin/sh (POSIX) is quite different from say Berkeley /bin/sh (BSD).
That is the issue.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

need help with test condition in shell script

I'm new to scripting and I need help with a bourn shell script. What i'm trying to do is a test condition where "if the time is within 2 hours, it's true" and so on. The time is in the following format DATE=`/bin/date +"%Y%m%d%H%S"` for example, 20060907152000. So, what the script first... (9 Replies)
Discussion started by: pieman8080
9 Replies

2. Windows & DOS: Issues & Discussions

rediretion and pipes in DOS shell cmd interpreter

Hello, I am trying to accomplish the following. Send the output of a command to the screen (this happens by default) as well as capture the output of the screen to a log file. How can this be achieved in DOS command interpreter syntax. Any ideas/suggesstions/indicators are greatly... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: jerardfjay
2 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Shell and commandline interpreter-definitions

What is the difference between the(a) shell and the (a) command-line interpreter? Here we're talking about the complete dummy question, but could someone point me right. (yes, have written scripts in for instance bash shell, and and grepp-ed my way around ....:eek: (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: amkgw
4 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

test script to identify SHELL

I am new to BASH and writing a small script to identify the SHELL . #!/bin/bash BASH='/bin/bash' KSH='/bin/ksh' if then echo "it's Bash" else echo "it's not Bash" fi $ bash -x a.sh + BASH=/bin/bash + KSH=/bin/ksh + '' a.sh: line 4: where am I missing . PLease advice . (10 Replies)
Discussion started by: talashil
10 Replies