Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting scripting - write a script that will count the number of times a particular word Post 302328538 by rakesh_pagadala on Wednesday 24th of June 2009 01:36:30 PM
Old 06-24-2009
Even i am very new to scripting so i am not very sure of some advance regular expressions. So i am giving the basic shell script
Code:

count=0
for i in  $(cat location of file)
do
if [ $i == name ]; #name which you want to find from the given file
then
count=`expr $count + 1`
fi
done
echo $count

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

TO find the word which occurs maximum number of times

Hi Folks !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! My Requirement is............. i have a input file: 501,501.chan 502,502.anand 503,503.biji 504,504.raja 505,505.chan 506,506.anand 507,507.chan and my o/p should be chan->3 i.e. the word which occurs maximum number of times in a file should be... (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: aajan
5 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Looking for a single line to count how many times one character occurs in a word...

I've been looking on the internet, and haven't found anything simple enough to use in my code. All I want to do is count how many times "-" occurs in a string of characters (as a package name). It seems it should be very simple, and shouldn't require more than one line to accomplish. And this is... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: Shingoshi
2 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

d. Write a shell script to count the number of accounts which belong to particular primary

guys, I am new shelll scripting.. this a question on passt exam paper, I was trying to solve it , I can not. the question is as follow? a. Write a shell script to count the number of accounts which belong to particular primary group in a standard UNIX system which uses local... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: gurmad
1 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting