Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Bash Monitoring Alert Script
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Bash Monitoring Alert Script Post 302327817 by chatwizrd on Monday 22nd of June 2009 04:05:46 PM
Old 06-22-2009
You dont just ping ports. You would have to add a lot of code so it knows what to look for. If it didn't get a certain response then it would mark it as down and email you. Im sure there are scripts out there for monitoring ports.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Monitoring a file - Basic Bash Question

*This is not homework I am new to UNIX and want to try this Monitoring a file demo* *If this is the wrong forum please move it - im new to the forums* $1 = the file to be monitored $2 = the time for the file to sleep If the file gets changed (using -nt) it will send my username mail saying... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: Nolan-
2 Replies

2. Infrastructure Monitoring

Monitoring and Alert System

hi, i serarch monitoring and alert system. when HDD and services are down. Send email and sms alert to me and help desk. but i don't find any program. Can you help me ? Thanks. (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: oulutas
1 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Help with Monitoring script

Hi Gurus, Currently I am learning UNIX through online forums and unix blogs. I have the below requirement. I need to write a script to monitor server processes. For example, there are 3 processes currently running on the server.(java, pmrepagent, pmserver). If any of the process goes down,... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: svajhala
2 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

need script bash alert email

Hello I have a server it is running more than 5 people Scripts I want to send a warning to the administrator for the main server All is written in the ssh strain For example, when typing the following command "ls" " rm " and other email sends the administrator for the main server About it... (2 Replies)