Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Using REGEX within SED range search Post 302324430 by cfajohnson on Wednesday 10th of June 2009 04:36:21 PM
Old 06-10-2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by danmauer
i was trying to match either a space or end of line after the word "select" -

This matches select (without regard to case) with zero or more spaces before or after it, and nothing else on the line:

Code:
/^ *[Ss][Ee][Ll][Ee][Cc][Tt] *$/

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Search files between a date range

Hi people A newbie here, thrown into the deep end. I want to select the group of files with in a range of dates and perform some operation on it. Are there inbuild date libraries i can use? I did read thru the old posts on this topic. Couldnt get much idea :(, basically want to know how I... (7 Replies)
Discussion started by: zcanji
7 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

awk search within a range.

I have this kind of file ABC UUIIIIIIIIIIII , HJHKJKL XYZ HHJJJJJJMMM ABC BBOOIO, PPLIOJK XYZ NMJKJKK ABC MMMM ABC OPOPO XYZ LLKLKLL I need to get all data from ABC till XYZ so output should be UUIIIIIIIIIIII (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: dinjo_jo
6 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Converting perl regex to sed regex

I am having trouble parsing rpm filenames in a shell script.. I found a snippet of perl code that will perform the task but I really don't have time to rewrite the entire script in perl. I cannot for the life of me convert this code into something sed-friendly: if ($rpm =~ /(*)-(*)-(*)\.(.*)/)... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: suntzu
1 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

How do I search with regex in one spot?