Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Obtain the remote username?
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Obtain the remote username? Post 302323513 by Coleyman on Monday 8th of June 2009 06:22:19 AM
Old 06-08-2009
Obtain the remote username?

Hi,

I'm new to Unix scripting so I'm hoping someone can help me out.

I have trawled the web trying to find an answer to this but have not been able to find out anything.

I'm trying to create a script that when supplied with a hostname, will find out information about the remote machine.

I know the admin account details on the remote machine, and can obtain the IP address no problem, but I'm having trouble finding out how to obtain the username of the person that is currently logged into the machine.

Just so I can make this clear, I do not want to copy the script onto the remote machine and run it (as in copy the script to the machine and 'whoami'). I actually want to try and obtain the username remotely.

I realize that this may not be possible due to security reasons.

Any ideas?

Many thanks for any help.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Where to obtain FreeBSD?

Anyone help ! From where can I download a free version of FreeBSD ? I am trying to teach myself this OS, have all the documentation needed, but am short the OS itself. If anyone can send me a link, I would be most appreciative ! (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: treborwallace
3 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Remote Copy without entering Username and Password

I tried the following script to copy one file automatically: #!/bin/csh -f su - root -c "rcp 150.10.128.1:/export/home/sn408Xl/sn408Sol/$fn $fn This works fine but is there a better way to copy remotely without entering the username and password? Moreover, after the file is copied a... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: ilak1008
1 Replies

3. HP-UX

How can I obtain Hpux?

Hi, How can I obtain Hpux? Thanks (4 Replies)