Sponsored Content
Special Forums UNIX and Linux Applications Differentiate between MS Word and Excel files in Unix Post 302321403 by sysgate on Monday 1st of June 2009 04:10:54 AM
Old 06-01-2009
Hm... I just noticed that the 'file' utility does not make difference between Excel files and Word files - both are presented as "Microsoft Office Document". I'm out of suggestions but relying on the file's extension can also work, you can just warn the users to pay attention on file's names and especially extensions.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

How to Differentiate Between Files and Folders?

Hi All, I'm a rookie using HPUX and I know this is going to sound like a bonehead question, but when I list the contents of a directory, how can I determine which objects are files and which are folders? I'm using the ll and ls commands to lists the contents. So far I've been determining the... (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: dgower2
6 Replies

2. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

Exporting files from unix to Excel sheet

How can we export a file in unix with certain number of columns to an excel sheet. It's very useful in time saving...... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: bishweshwar
3 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Add multiple .csv files as sheets to an excel file in unix.

Hi, I am using Solaris 8. My script outputs 4 .csv files. Currently I am SFTPing the files and creating a new excel file with the 4 files as sheets. Can anyone suggest ways to do this in UNIX ? Thanks, David. (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: libin4u2000
2 Replies

4. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Multiple excel files processing on unix