Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Read from script
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Read from script Post 302313746 by filloweb on Wednesday 6th of May 2009 11:20:42 AM
Old 05-06-2009
Read from script

Hi all.

I'm a newbie of bash scripting.

I need to create a script to have a rotate backup with 5 USB DISK on a work week.
With e2label, I've labelled all disk with all day of the week ( e.g. Monday, Tuesday, Thursday,... ).

How can I read if I've plugged the right device ?!?!

I find the right day with "date +%A".

Thanks a lot.

filloweb.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

how other user cannot read my script?

Hi All, If I don't want other user read my script, what can i do? :confused: (19 Replies)
Discussion started by: happyv
19 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

help with simple read script!

Hi y'all...I've been wracking my brain over this very simple script that reads in a textfile and echos each line. But I keep getting an error. Below is my script: #!/bin/bash while read myline do echo $myline done < t_file-20080221.01.asc The error I am getting is: syntax error... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: kevlar28
1 Replies

3. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

Script without read permission but execute the script

I have a script, except me no one can read the script but they can execute the script. Is it possible? (14 Replies)
Discussion started by: kingganesh04
14 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Script to read a file

Can someone please give me a big help? I'm trying to read the file below, which have the format: query,XX,XX,6559,0.132,0.210,0.108,0.03% query,XX,XX,6559,0.132,0.210,0.108,0.03% query,XX,XX,6559,0.132,0.210,0.108,0.03% Need to get the 4th value: 6559 and sum all and put it into a var: ... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: letakeda
2 Replies

5. Shell Programming and Scripting

[SCRIPT] read and substitution