Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting passing argument to shell script that reads user inputs Post 302305718 by patjones on Thursday 9th of April 2009 02:45:36 PM
Old 04-09-2009
passing argument to shell script that reads user inputs

Hi,
Lets say I have a script "ss" which does this

read abc
echo $abc
read pqr
echo $pqr

Now if I want to pass and argument to only "abc" how do I do it.
If I do

echo "somevalue" | ss, it does not prompt for pqr and its value comes out as blank.

Any help is appreciated

Thanks
P

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Problem when passing argument to a shell script

Hi all, I'm new to Shell scripting. In my shell script for Bourne shell, the script accepts a date parameter which is optional. If the value is supplied, the supplied value should be assigned to a variable. If not, the current date will be assigned to the variable. My script is like this. #!... (9 Replies)
Discussion started by: sumesh.abraham
9 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Help in passing array of inputs to C program using script?

Hi, I have a file input which has 1000 data inputs of array elements. I would like to pass this to a C program one line at a time as input automatically. Anyone know how I could use "sed" to perform this? Appreciate alot. Thanks. (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: ahjiefreak
1 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Passing command line argument between shell's

Hi, I am facing a problem to pass command line arguments that looks like <script name> aa bb "cc" dd "ee" I want to pass all 5 elements include the " (brackets). when I print the @ARGV the " disappear. I hope I explain myself Regards, Ziv (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: zivsegal
4 Replies

4. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Passing command output as an argument to a shell script