Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Writing a simple loop in perl Post 302305317 by docdudetheman on Wednesday 8th of April 2009 02:05:36 PM
Old 04-08-2009
Cheers

Thank you very much . I'll look into what you suggested and also learn more Perl (including hashes) as Kevin suggested here and elsewhere.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Need help writing simple script

I'm trying to write a simple unix script that will delete files after 30 days of being created. I've never done this before but conceptually it sounds easy. Here is what I'm trying to do: Get System Date Get File Date If (sysdate-filedate>30days) rm file All of these files are contained... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: tamdoankc
1 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Writing to variables within a loop

I have a loop which will go round "i" number of times and return a value each time. Is there a way to set a variable(i) such that I will end up with variable(1), variable(2), variable(3) etc. for however many times the loop went round? eg: for (i=1;i<=3;i++) --do some sums--... (0 Replies)
Discussion started by: Sniper Pixie
0 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

HELP! writing simple shell script

how would i write a shell script to show the number of lines in which int variable appears in a c++ program. (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: deadleg
3 Replies

4. Programming

Tools for writing a simple syntax checker?

I'm trying to write a small utility for syntax checking. I've tried using Flex/Bison, but these seem too advanced for my task. A simpler tool would be appreciated. (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: Ilja
1 Replies

5. Red Hat

Writing simple python setup commands