Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: process accounting
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers process accounting Post 302301288 by methyl on Thursday 26th of March 2009 12:08:22 PM
Old 03-26-2009
I don't have a SUNOS system handy but isn't "acctadm" for Extended Accounting?
On my HP-UX system the following configuration text file turns unix Process Accounting on/off.
/etc/rc.config.d/acct
The actual processes are usually started in a rc2 script containing "/usr/sbin/acct/startup" and "/usr/sbin/acct/shutacct"
See
man acct
A "pacct" file on a busy system can get very large and I have yet to find a use for the data so I routinely turn off Process Accounting.
Hope this helps.

7 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Small Business Accounting Software

I'm new to Unix and currently running Solaris 9. Does anyone know of any good Small Business Accounting software that's inexpensive that runs on Solaris? (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: jbarbuto
1 Replies

2. Programming

utmp ACCOUNTING

the utmp.h ACCOUNTING macro is set to 9 on my system. my question is: what "accounting" is it referring to? (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: thmnetwork
2 Replies

3. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

Accounting Process

Hi, I need to know , if there is some routine like a function "accton" to accounting process for HP-UX, because I need accounting the command executed for users and is necesary that include the argumments of command but the file "paccton" generated for function "accton" doesn't include them. ... (0 Replies)
Discussion started by: hvazquez
0 Replies

4. Cybersecurity

System Accounting

How do I enable System Accounting on Solaris 8? In Solaris 7 I would copy the /usr/lib/acct file to S22acct and start it like that. That doesn't seem to be an option in Solaris 8. Thanks for your help! (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: pc9456
2 Replies

5. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

Special accounting information