Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Learning scripting -- functions capturing output Post 302300321 by rikxik on Monday 23rd of March 2009 09:49:28 PM
Old 03-23-2009
Functions will echo as long as there is some command inside them which writes to stdout. If you want to suppress that, you can redirect output to /dev/null. It has nothing to do with exit code.

You can use "return <exit_code>" to pass around success/failure information. Using "exit <exit_code>" will quit the script altogether. Once you return, you can check $? to check for success/failure.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Learning Shell Scripting

I'm new to UNIX and I want to learn Shell Scripting. I want a web site that has Shell Scripting tutorials. Any suggesstions?.? (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: liveapple2000
3 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Suggested Books for Learning Shell scripting

Hi, I had completed RHCE and i am interested to learn shell scripting. Request you to please let me know which book is best for learning shell scripting or any online website. Thanks & Regards arun (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: Arun.Kakarla
2 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

capturing output from top and format output

Hi all, I'd like to capture the output from the 'top' command to monitor my CPU and Mem utilisation.Currently my command isecho date `top -b -n1 | grep -e Cpu -e Mem` I get the output in 3 separate lines.Tue Feb 24 15:00:03 Cpu(s): 3.4% us, 8.5% sy .. .. Mem: 1011480k total, 226928k used, ....... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: new2ss
4 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Capturing the output of dbv

Hello, We have an oracle database running on a Linux host (RHEL5)...I'm trying to run Oracle dbv (database verify utility) and capture its output to a file using the following syntax but the standart output does NOT get redirected to the file... dbv blocksize=32768 ... (2 Replies)