Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: substr
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers substr Post 302298218 by janani_kalyan on Tuesday 17th of March 2009 02:51:06 AM
Old 03-17-2009
thanks vidhya. yes i'm new to unix so required lot of explanation thanks for your explaining me in detail.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Using substr

What is the more efficient way to do this (awk only and default FS) ? $ echo "jefe@alm"|awk '{pos = index($0, "@");printf ("USER: %s\n",substr ($0,1,pos-1))}' USER: jefe Thx in advance (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: Klashxx
2 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Substr

Hi, My input file is 41;2;xxxx;yyyyy.... 41;2;xxxx;yyyyy.... 41;2;xxxx;yyyyy.... .. .. I need to change the second field value from 2 to 1. i.e., 41;1;xxxx;yyyyy.... 41;1;xxxx;yyyyy.... 41;1;xxxx;yyyyy.... .. .. Thanks in advance. (9 Replies)
Discussion started by: deepakwins
9 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

get substr?

Hi, I have a long string like, aabab|bcbcbcbbc|defgh|paswd123 dedededede|efef|ghijklmn|paswd234 ghghghghgh|ijijii|klllkkk|paswd345 lmlmlmmm|nononononn|opopopopp|paswd456 This string is devided into one space between substrings. This substrings are, aabab|bcbcbcbbc|defgh|paswd123... (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: syamkp
6 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

substr not working

Hi I am trying to run this command in ksh ...its not working $line="123356572867116w1671716" actual_length = 16 cut_line=`awk 'BEGIN{print substr(ARGV,1,actual_length)}' "$line"` the substr is not giving me an output how can i make it done can anyone hwlp me on this cut_line=`awk... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: pukars4u
2 Replies

5. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

substr of a file