Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers How do I grep a Date correctly Post 302295613 by Perderabo on Monday 9th of March 2009 05:03:36 AM
Old 03-09-2009
If you do this:
var=date

echo $var
echo "$var"
you're just going to get the work "date" displayed. To run the date command and use its output, you need to do:
echo $(date)
echo $($var)
if you're using a modern shell. If you're using an antique shell:
echo `date`
echo `$var`

And next time please tell us which shell you're using.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Is grep being used correctly?

My goal is to find files contain the "signal 11" string in a specific directory. I need the file details followed by the string. I wrote a script to test out and play with Shell command since it's my first time to write a Shell script. Let me cut the story short... this command line: if ... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: sai0899
2 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Grep date from ls -l

I have a script which required the month and day as the input ex : ./script <Month> <date> from this I get the list of files to do further logics. The problem is when I assign these $1 and $2 to variables, and use grep command in the script ls -l |grep "$1 $2" it works fine for two... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: GenMen
1 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

grep -A switch not working correctly with -m

egrep -A 7 -m 2 -h 'Date:|Time:' *.html this is showing only 2 line after the context of the 2nd found match. Is this a bug in grep? egrep -A 7 -m 2 -h 'Time:' *.html - this works correctly (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: zer0
2 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Grep/awk not getting the message correctly