Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers How to increase the maximum record length Post 302294539 by otheus on Thursday 5th of March 2009 11:33:01 AM
Old 03-05-2009
What are you using to create this file? What counts as a "record"?

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Maximum file name length

Hi folks, Can anybody tell me whether there is any limit on the file name length and directory name length in UNIX. (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: rkkiran
4 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Maximum Command Length

What is the maximum size of a command which can be given in telnet command prompt in unix? (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: miltony
2 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

what is the maximum length of th os-command line in Unix.

Hi All, I didn't find any thread that match this question so I hope it's not redundant. I am totally new to Unix. I want to know what is the maximum length of the os-commandline in Unix. Will it cause any problem if I run any application whose total path length is much longer than 256... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: kumardesai
2 Replies

4. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

What the command to find out the record length of a fixed length file?

I want to find out the record length of a fixed length file? I forgot the command. Any body know? (9 Replies)
Discussion started by: tranq01
9 Replies

5. Red Hat

Increase Password length

Hello All, I am using RHEL 4. Currently maximum password length limit is set to 8 on my system. Please tell what do i need to change to increase this limit to say 20. I changed the login.defs and included the following line - " PASS_MAX_LEN 20 " but this dint work. I further... (7 Replies)
Discussion started by: shamik
7 Replies

6. Shell Programming and Scripting

Make variable length record a fixed length