Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers Reading a file and Classification Post 302294018 by yarlagadda999 on Wednesday 4th of March 2009 09:47:34 AM
Old 03-04-2009
Question Reading a file and Classification

Hello Everyone,

I am new to UNIX. I have got a requirement. Thought of posting it in this forum so that someone might help me. Please have a look at the scenario.

The Objective is to "classify books into four seperate files and then print a summary report".

Specifications are as follows:-

The books records are stored in one csv file and the layout and the contents are contained in File 1.
There are four categories of books: sports, computing, children's and horror. We should determine the category and then write a series of 3 records to the appropiate file.
The files need to be created in the program and their names will be: children, horror, sports and computing. The format of four files is contained in File 2.

Records which do not belong to any of the above categories should be printed to the screen as an error.

The summary report should be displayed on the screen and will contain the following information:
- Date
- names of files created (including path name)
- total number of boks processed
- total value of books

File 1 - CSV File sample
Code:
ISBN, Title, Category, cost, NO of copies
978-0340681138, Five Get into TRouble (Famous Five), Enid Blyton, Childrens, 6, 3
978-0142301883, The Little Match Girl, Hans Christian Anderson, Childrens, 3, 2
978-0304921532, cell, Stephen King, Horror, 7, 1
978-0596100292, Unix in a Nutshell Scripting, Arnold Robbins, Computing, 17, 2

File 2 - Format of output files
Code:
ISBN: 978-0340681138
Author: Enid Blyton
Title: Five Get into Trouble (Famous Five)

Could anyone give me some idea about how to achieve this requirement as I am a bit new to programming. I would appreciate your help.

Regards,
Yarlagadda.

Last edited by Yogesh Sawant; 04-01-2009 at 01:13 PM.. Reason: added code tags