Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers Running server side application on client demand Post 302291101 by gleesonger on Tuesday 24th of February 2009 05:47:49 PM
Old 02-24-2009
Running server side application on client demand

Ive written a java based "webscraper to rss feed" which resides on my college web space when I execute the app from putty it creates the feed and sets the permissions perfectly.I then wrote a php script to execute the app on demand from the browser using
Code:
system("java -cp /storage/webtree/g/gleesog4/rss/bin Feed >> /storage/webtree/g/gleesog4/rss/bin/log.txt");

However the java program hangs on the web request and eventually times out.

How do I solve this?

Thanks Ger.

Last edited by gleesonger; 02-24-2009 at 06:52 PM..

9 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Script to Test Application Server is running

Hi, I'm a complete novice at Unix and need to create a script that does the following... checks to see if an application server is running. If the app is running then print 'Available' Else print 'Unavaliable' exit from scriopt I have no idea where to start. I'd be very grateful... (0 Replies)
Discussion started by: duglover
0 Replies

2. Programming

Server - Client application problem

hi all I'm beginner in CORBA Server-Client appliction development. My server- client application was worked well and i have tested it too. Due to some Network problem we have rebooted our dedicated server , then i restart my corba service, application in the server it started... (0 Replies)
Discussion started by: VijayakumarN
0 Replies

3. Linux

running Client-Server prog on 2 LInux boxes