Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting having problems with IF statements Post 302289081 by quirkasaurus on Wednesday 18th of February 2009 04:08:01 PM
Old 02-18-2009
forget $NULL -- that's not doing what you want....

first, why not just this:

Code:
if [ $# -ne 2 ]; then
  echo Usage: $0 data1 setdate
  echo where setdate is in mm/dd/yyyy format
  exit 1
fi

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

or statements?

how do i do an or in an if-then statement? i tried: if ; then bleh fi how???? (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: Blip
1 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Major Awk problems (Searching, If statements, transposing etc.)

Please bare with me as task is very detailed and I'm extremely new to Awk/sed. Keep in mind I'm running windows so I'm using a dos prompt The attachment is a server report that I'm trying to manipulate with little success. For each server, I need to take the most recent information about them... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: Blivo
2 Replies

3. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

if statements

This is for a program I have to do to calculate the day of the week. I need to write an if statement that will do the following: if day is 29 and year is odd, don't calculate dayif ( day == 29 && year == ??? )I know how to do it for the day but I don't know how to do it for the year. (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: pwanda
4 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

HELP!! if statements

I am kind of new in Unix and i have to make a menu. I want to put an if statement in the menu. you should enter the filename and it goes to that file. How do i do this? (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: trob
1 Replies

5. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Help with For Statements

Hi, I am trying to write a for statement that will allow for the ps, who, finger, and date commands to run. Can anyone help? I use Putty. (22 Replies)
Discussion started by: lexydoll87
22 Replies