Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Pressing Enter (bash)
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Pressing Enter (bash) Post 302285079 by cfajohnson on Saturday 7th of February 2009 02:36:40 AM
Old 02-07-2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Yakuzan
Hey, I'm writing this BASH script, I recently started learning BASH after I did Java and I'm pretty new to the syntax.

Anways, what I want to do is simple, I coudn't find the right information though:

Let's say I make a :

read -p "Press ENTER to go back to menu" choice

What is the command that would let me perform this? I need to way for the User to press ENTER, not a silly Y/N. (It's for general accomplishment actually haha).

Your code will work as is.

The script will wait until the user presses ENTER. You might add an -s option to prevent any other characters being echoed to the screen, and you don't need a variable name since you aren't going to check it:

Code:
read -sp "Press ENTER to go back to menu"
echo "Thank you!"

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Pressing backspace key simulates enter key

Hi, Whenever i press the backspace key, a new line appears, i.e. it works like a enter key. :confused: Thanks (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: vibhor_agarwali
2 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

BASH: Any Way to Get User Input Without Requiring Them to Hit the Enter Key?

I'm working on making a menu system on an HP-UX box with Bash on it. The old menu system presents the users with a standard text menu with numbers to make selections. I'm re-working the system and I would like to provide something more akin to iterative search in Emacs. I have a list of 28... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: deckard
2 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Pressing "Enter/Space bar" using Net::TELNET? in Perl