Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: fetching paragraphs with SED
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting fetching paragraphs with SED Post 302282965 by ipat on Monday 2nd of February 2009 09:06:11 AM
Old 02-02-2009
fetching paragraphs with SED

hi,
i am a SED newbie and i need some help. i have a log file as shown below. and i want to search specific Error Code, and fetch the whole paragraph.

[2009-02-01 15:42:51,630] ...
[2009-02-01 16:52:51,683] ...
....ErrCode...
[2009-02-01 17:49:33,686] ...
[2009-02-01 17:59:00,000] ...
[2009-02-01 18:52:50,000] ...
....ErrCode...

let's say, i want to search "ErrCode" and it will show me that. how can i do this with SED :

[2009-02-02 16:52:51,683] ...
....ErrCode...
[2009-02-01 18:52:50,000] ...
....ErrCode...

thanks..

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Using sed to remove paragraphs with variables

Hi everyone, I have a file with multiple entries and I would like to remove the ones that contain either /A"> or /A/, where A can be any letter of the alphabet. Here's an example of the entries: <Topic r:id="Top/World/Fran"> <catid>476</catid> <link... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: BlueberryPickle
1 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

how to filter out some paragraphs in a file

Hi, I am trying to filter out those paragraphs that contains 'CONNECT', 'alter system switch logfile'. That means say the input file is : ------------------------------------------------------- Wed Jun 7 00:32:31 2006 ACTION : 'CONNECT' CLIENT USER: prdadm CLIENT TERMINAL: Wed Jun 7... (7 Replies)
Discussion started by: cnlhap
7 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

deleting text records with sed (sed paragraphs)