Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting executing mysql load statement from shell script Post 302279100 by zaxxon on Thursday 22nd of January 2009 01:57:44 AM
Old 01-22-2009
When using that in a shell script like for example:
Code:
mysql -uroot -psomepass mydb < dothat.sql

... you can always check with the shell variable $? what happened; just echo it. 0 is success, 1 is a fail. If you need more verbose output, man mysql says add a -v or -vv or -vvv. -vvv should be as detailed as if doing that interactive on the mysql prompt.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

How to write DB2 Load Utility in Shell script

Hi, I am a beginner. I need an example of using DB2 Load Utility in Shell script. I appreciate if anyone could help me about it. Thanks, Paris (0 Replies)
Discussion started by: parisbeginner
0 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Need help in wrting Load Script for a Load-Resume type of load.

hi all need your help. I am wrting a script that will load data into the table. then on another load will append the data into the existing table. Regards Ankit (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: ankitgupta
1 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Executing a Oracle SQL statement in a UNIX script

Hi All, I need to select one column from a table based upon the passed in parameter. I tried this: sqlplus -silent $MISP_USER << EOF set feedback off; set verify off; set sqlprompt "" SELECT mail_flag FROM dailyjobs WHERE job_name = '$1'; exit 0 EOF exit... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: ganga.dharan
1 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

sh and MySQL LOAD DATA

I have a csv file in a folder that is roughly 500,000 rows long. Rather than using PHP, I would like to use SH to run a MYSQL LOAD DATA command to load the data in, as I think it would be much faster and would not cause any memory problems associated with PHP. But the problem is, I am not... (18 Replies)