Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting How do I do if(string.endsWith("/")) in shell Post 302277285 by skar_a on Friday 16th of January 2009 12:03:55 AM
Old 01-16-2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by klogger
I have a string that may or may not end with a '/' and would like to do something if it does not end in a slash. I have tried:

Code:
if "/home/test/blah/blah" | sed 's/\/$//'
then
    echo "OK"
fi

but I think sed works on input streams only and not files. I am not a shell programmer of any kind and am having difficulty in finding infomation on such things.
Code:
echo "/home/test/blah/blah"|grep '/$'
if [$? -eq 0];then
  echo "Ends with /"
fi

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

No utpmx entry: you must exec "login" from lowest level "shell"

Hi I have installed solaris 10 on an intel machine. Logged in as root. In CDE, i open terminal session, type login alex (normal user account) and password and i get this message No utpmx entry: you must exec "login" from lowest level "shell" :confused: What i want is: open various... (0 Replies)
Discussion started by: peterpan
0 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

input string="3MMTQSZ348GGMZRQWMJM4SD6M";output string="3MMTQ-SZ348-GGMZR-QWMJM-4SD6

input string="3MMTQSZ348GGMZRQWMJM4SD6M" output string="3MMTQ-SZ348-GGMZR-QWMJM-4SD6M" using linux shell script (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: pankajd
4 Replies

3. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

Command Character size limit in the "sh" and "bourne" shell

Hi!!.. I would like to know what is maximum character size for a command in the "sh" or "bourne" shell? Thanks in advance.. Roshan. (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: Roshan1286
1 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Shell Script to identify the line number containing a particular "string"