Sponsored Content
Operating Systems Solaris Get Count of all files in all the directories Post 302273424 by oniondosa on Sunday 4th of January 2009 04:50:55 PM
Old 01-04-2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by pludi
Code:
find / -type f -name '*.*' -print | wc -l

or, if you want all files, regardless if they have an extension or not
Code:
find / -type f -print | wc -l

Thank you very much.. It helped immensely

9 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Count Directories In bash

Hi ALL I have small script that find 777 dir now i want to count these directories,Keep in mind there are many directories. This IS my code below. #!/bin/bash check=/var/www/html find $check -type d -perm 777 | while read DIR do ... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: aliahsan81
2 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

AWK Script - Count Files In Directories

Hey, I'm very new to AWK and am trying to write a script that counts the number of files in all subdirectories. So, basically, my root has many subdirectories, and each subdirectory has many files. How can I get the total count? I haven't been able to figure out how to loop through the... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: beefeater267
1 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Count of files in directories

Hi, I have a requirement to find out the count of files in directories. I can do this very well by goind to each directory and then ls -lrt | wc -l. But I need to do it for hundreds of directories/sub-directories. I tried with this - for i in `ls -F | grep '/$'`; do `echo "$i"`| ls -lrt... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: unx100
2 Replies

4. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

count no of directories

hi all, i want to count no of files and directories in current directory , seperately... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: sonu_pal
3 Replies

5. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Count of files and directories