Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting replace one or more tabs with commas Post 302272250 by pludi on Tuesday 30th of December 2008 04:06:12 AM
Old 12-30-2008
If given a file in the format
Code:
Test1	Test2	Test 3	Test 4

running
Code:
cat test.txt | sed -e 's/\t\+/,/g'

should do the trick.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Cron Tabs

I am on AIX 5.1 If I have a crontab that looks like this 01 1 * * 6 What does the 6 mean ? if the * means that everyday it should run then why would the 6th day be signified ? Shouldn't it be a * also? Thanks (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: rocker40
1 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Inserting commas and replacing backslashes with commas

Hi, Newbie here. I have a file that consists of data that I want to convert to a csv file. For example: Jul 20 2008 1111 / visit home / BlackBerry8830/4.2.2 Profile/MIDP-2.0 Configuration/CLOC-1.1 VendorID/105 Jul 21 2008 22222 / add friend / BlackBerry8830/4.2.2 Profile/MIDP-2.0... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: kangaroo
3 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

parsing log files, removing spaces and replace with commas

Hello all i am working on a database to import log files from my systems, but i cannot seem to find the answer. I searched here for a good bit and couldnt peice together what i was looking for. I know you could do this with awk, i just dont know how. Any help would be greatly appreciated.... (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: caddyjoe77
6 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

too many tabs

Hi, I have a file that has too many tabs between columns. I cannot get the tabs out. Basically the tab between column 1 and 2 are fine but between 2/3, 3/4 etc are like 5 tabs. How do I get rid of these 5 tabs so its just 1 tab. thanks (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: phil_heath
3 Replies

5. Shell Programming and Scripting

replace spaces/tabs with delimiter |