Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Another data extraction question Post 302270982 by dr.house on Tuesday 23rd of December 2008 10:59:00 AM
Old 12-23-2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by kunigirib
I am new to Unix, can you please explain me what is RS and ORS stands for.
User-modified Variables - Awk User Guide

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Data Extraction issue.

I have a small problem, I have written a following script, which extracts all the rows from source file which strats with T101 and rights it to another file mydata.dat Script my_script #!/bin/ksh YMONTH=$1 dir1='/home/data' dir2='/clients/source_file' cd $dir1 grep "T101"... (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: irehman
5 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

help with data extraction script

Hello all, Iam newbie here and to unix programming. I have the following text file. A:Woshington,B:London,C:Paris,D:Manchester,C:Lisbon,E:Cape town. Now I would like extract this and store in database. here is the script I have tried but it did work. CITY1:`echo "$text" | grep "A:"... (11 Replies)
Discussion started by: mam
11 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Data Extraction From a File

Hi All, I have a requirement where I have to search the file with some text say "Exception". This exception word can be repeated for more then 10 times. Suppose the "Exception" word is repeated at line numbers say x=10, 50, 60, 120. Now I want to extract all the lines starting from x-5 to... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: rrangaraju
3 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Selective extraction of data from a files

Hi, I would like to seek for methods to do selective extraction of line froma file. The scenario as follows: I have a file with content: message a received on 11:10:00 file size: 10 bytes send by abc message b received on 11:20:00 file size: 10 bytes send by abc (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: dwgi32
3 Replies