Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Matching a file with extension tmp Post 302270851 by reddyrajal on Tuesday 23rd of December 2008 04:11:20 AM
Old 12-23-2008
try this
#!/bin/sh

COUNTER=0
echo -n "Enter the directory path: ";
read DIRECTORY
echo $DIRECTORY
cd $DIRECTORY

for FILE in `ls | grep -v _tmp$ `
do

echo $COUNTER $FILE

if [ -e ${FILE}_tmp ]
then
COUNTER=`expr $COUNTER + 1`
array[$COUNTER]=${FILE}_tmp
fi
done

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

monitoring /tmp and /var/tmp for suspicous activity

Hello, does anyone have a script that can check the contents of the /tmp directory and for example e-mail the directory content if anything other than session files are present? Maybe there are better ways to monitor suspicous /tmp and /var/tmp activity, if so I'm listening :) (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: jamesbond
1 Replies

2. Solaris

after init all /tmp file has been removed

I'm new in Solaris server After the system support reboot the Solaris server, all the files in /tmp has been removed, is that normal under Solaris or under different init level will get different result? which init level will do that? (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: yesthomas
5 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

howto change parameter in vi to take tmp file

i have a problem running vi. there is no space in /var where it creates tmp file. How can I change this parameter so that it takes from other directory. thanks (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: ajaya
4 Replies

4. HP-UX

Error: file </tmp/srw25108193> does not exist

Hi Everybody I need help from you guys. I'm getting this message on PC where i'm running Unix User using Reflection in order to get graphically format for Oracle Report Server. What is causing this msg and how to solve it? Regards and thanks in advance. Gege *Error: file... (0 Replies)
Discussion started by: cgege
0 Replies

5. Shell Programming and Scripting